Science & Technology
Research Databases
Research databases | Selected Websites
-
General Science Collection
A collection of over 200 journals and over 1.6 million articles covering the latest in scientific developments.
-
Green File
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
-
SAMS Photofacts
A collection of schematics, parts lists, and other technical data for over 200,000 consumer electronic devices from the 1940s to today.
**Available only on workstations inside the library**
-
Science Reference Center
A research database that provides access to full-text science oriented content.
Selected Websites
Research databases | Selected Websites
Animals
-
Animal Diversity Web
Physical characteristics, distribution, behavior, food, habitat, reproduction, economic importance, conservation of animal species. Many images of individual species.
-
Butterflies of North America
Size, identifying characteristics, life history, flight, food, habitat, and range and conservation status of butterfly species. Includes photos of adults and caterpillars, as well as distribution maps.
-
FishBase
All you ever wanted to know about the biology of freshwater, saltwater, and aquarium fish species.
-
International Wolf Center
Learn about the wolf from the Ely, MN organization that seeks to foster the animal's survival by teaching about its life, its association with other species and its dynamic relationship to humans.
-
Minnesota Ornithologists' Union
Everything you want to know about birds and birding in Minnesota.
-
Minnesota Zoo
Zoo events and general information, plus a virtual tour with a description of each of the zoo animal species.
-
National Audubon Society
Birds and their ecosystems. Site includes selected full-text articles published in Audubon Magazine from mid-1999 to date.
-
Raptor Center
Fact sheets, images, and lesson plans relating to birds of prey, along with information on the conservation and raptor-saving efforts of the Center.
-
The Cephalopod Page
All about octopuses, squid, cuttlefish and nautiluses. Species information and many images are included.
Mathematics
-
Ask Dr. Math
Stuck on a math problem? Search the archives of responses to 5,000 questions others have asked, or submit your own question to Dr. Math.
-
Knot A Braid of Links
More than 200 links to web sites on specific mathematical subjects, as well as online math journals, puzzle pages, and reference materials.
Biology
-
Bell Museum of Natural History
Located on the Twin Cities campus of the University of Minnesota, this museum has a fascinating natural history collection and kid-friendly exhibits.
-
Cells Alive
Richly illustrated introduction to plant and animal cell biology.
-
NatureServe
Conservation information on more than 50,000 plants, animals, and ecological communities of the United States and Canada.
-
Scitable
Articles and other resources for the study of genetics.
-
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program
Species information on threatened and endangered animals and plants in the United States and internationally.
Calculators
-
Calculators Online Center
An incredible array of calculators of all types, scientific and general, over 13,000 in all, arranged by subject.
-
Online Conversions
Whatever unit it is that you need to convert to another, there's probably a calculator among the 9000 on this site that will do it for you.
Chemistry
-
Chem4Kids
Chemistry information for anyone (child or adult) needing a basic chemistry review.
-
WebElements
Information about each of the elements, including history, sources, compounds, uses, forms and isotopes.
Earth Science
-
Dive and Discover
Join scientists from the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution as they map the seafloor, study underwater volcanoes and search for previously unknown life forms.
-
Earthquake Hazards Program
Recent and major quakes; earthquake preparedness; research; fact sheets, and regional information from the U.S. Geological Survey.
-
The Visible Earth
A collection of photographs, animations and visualizations revealing our ever-changing planet's landmasses, oceans and atmosphere, and documenting our impact upon it.
-
Windows to the Universe
A user-friendly learning system on earth and space sciences. Topics ranging from geology to space weather are covered at beginner, intermediate and advanced levels.
General
-
EarthSky
Transcripts, articles, teaching resources, and science news bulletins, from the daily science radio series hosted by Deborah Byrd and Joel Block.
-
Echo (Exploring & Connecting History Online) Virtual Center: Science & Technology
A centralized guide to online information on the history of science and technology.
-
EurekAlert
News in science, medicine and technology, and links to related Internet sites.
-
National Science Foundation
Funding opportunities, statistical data, news about cutting-edge findings, discoveries, and scientific breakthroughs.
-
Science Museum of Minnesota
Calendar of events, educational ideas and activities, information about the Museum's collections and research projects.
-
The Exploratorium
The Internet "wing" of the San Francisco museum includes experiments, exhibits, and webcasting.
-
The Why Files
Authoritative, plain English explanations of the science behind a wide variety of breaking news stories.
Environment
-
EnviroFacts Warehouse
Databases developed by the US Environmental Protection Agency on the subjects of air pollution, chemicals, hazardous waste, risk management, toxic releases, drinking water safety, and related areas.
-
Envirolink Network
Comprehensive information clearinghouse on conservation and environmental change.
-
Environmental Education Web Directory
Megasite for locating environmental information, with thousands of links.
-
Great Lakes Environmental Research Lab
National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration fact sheets, brochures, technical reports, current and historical data and forecasts for the Great Lakes.
-
Seek
A directory of Minnesota environmental education resources.
-
University of Minnesota Extension Service
Publications pertaining to Minnesota crops, soils, conservation, agricultural pests, plant pathology, fish and wildlife, forestry, wood and wood products, gardening, horticulture, livestock, health and human nutrition are included.
Technology
-
How Stuff Works
Clear and comprehensive information on how things work.
-
InventNet
Provides independent inventors with information to help them develop and market their inventions. Patent resources are linked.
-
Inventors
Information on famous inventors and inventions. Features work by minority and women inventors and tutorials for students on patent searching and the process of inventing.
-
Minnesota Inventors Congress
A resource center for the inventing community, based in Minnesota.
-
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Obtain information on the patent process and search the US patent and trademark databases.
Human Body
-
Inner Learning Online: Human Anatomy
Illustrations and explanations and animations of human body systems and components.
Physics
-
Learn Physics Today
A tutorial in basic physics, covering mechanics, light and waves, and electricity.
-
PhysicsWeb
News, articles, jobs, conferences, interactive physics experiments, and links to a broad range of physics web sites.
-
The Bakken: A Library and Museum of Electricity in Life
Explores the historical role of electricity and magnetism in the life sciences and medicine.
-
The Particle Adventure
Quarks? Leptons? Neutrinos? Antimatter? -- A primer on atomic particles and the forces that hold matter together.
Astronomy & Space
-
NASA Web Site
Information about NASA Space Centers, space flight and exploration, satellites and much more. Offers a wide range of links, including a children's link called NASA Kids.
-
StarChild: A Learning Center for Young Astronomers
A highly graphical astronomy site developed by NASA for children ages 4-14. The companion site for older students is Imagine the Universe, http://imagine.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/homepage.html
-
Stephen Hawking's Universe
Clear explanations of cosmological concepts, presentation of various theories of the origin of the universe, and biographies of individuals who have made significant contributions in cosmology.
-
The National Air and Space Museum
History, science, and technology of aviation and space flight.
-
Windows to the Universe
A user-friendly learning system on earth and space sciences. Topics ranging from geology to space weather are covered at beginner, intermediate and advanced levels.
-
Your Sky
An interactive planetarium, from which sky maps may be produced for any time and date, viewpoint and observing location.
Plants
-
PlantFacts
Plant-related fact sheets from universities and government institutions in the U.S. and Canada.
-
TreeLink
Information on trees and urban forestry. Included are a tree identification guide and help with tree selection, planting, and care.
Science Fairs
-
Science Fair Project Index
An index to books containing science fair project ideas for children in grades kindergarten through high school.












