Education
Research Databases
Research databases | Selected Websites
-
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Encyclopedia content plus news headlines, safe websites, engaging multimedia, and a customizable workspace.
-
Britannica Online School Edition
Provides access to four encyclopedias that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. For K-12.
-
Educator's Reference Complete
A resource that focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
-
ERIC
An index to journal articles and documents in education, containing full-text articles and over 1,000,000 citations.
-
Homework Help
A resource that provides one-to-one tutoring to students in a variety of subjects, as well as practice tests, flashcards games, and virtual study rooms.
-
Learning Express
A collection of resources to help with educational and career goals. Take courses and practice tests online, including computer skills (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, operating systems), occupational prep exams (civil service, law enforcement, military, EMS, postal services, firefighter), SAT, ACT, TOEFL, GED, adult basic skills, and U.S. citizenship.
**Create a username and password to access courses and tests**
-
Professional Collection
A selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home.
-
Professional Development Collection
A specialized collection of education journals and educational reports for professional educators, professional librarians, and education researchers.
-
Student Resources in Context
A resource designed for middle and high school students to help them with their homework and in-depth research assignments. It includes reference works, biographies, essays, overviews, primary works, images, and periodical articles.
-
Study for the U.S. Citizenship Test
A resource for people studying for the U.S. citizenship test. It include sample dictation sentences, interview questions, and practice tests in various languages.
**Available only on workstations inside the library**
Selected Websites
Research databases | Selected Websites
Education
-
Academic Earth
Academic Earth aims to provide everyone with the opportunity to earn a world-class education by offering free online classes and online learning tools. Whether you’re looking to advance your career or take classes that interest you, Academic Earth can connect you to the world’s top universities and scholars.
-
Khan Academy
A website with an extensive video library of educational lessons, interactive challenges, and assessments to be used by anyone completely free of charge.
Education agencies and resource sites
-
African American Registry
The most comprehensive repository of African American heritage in the world.
-
Minnesota Department of Education
MDE is a state agency serving early childhood, k-12, and adult education students, including the school districts & licensed teachers.
-
Minnesota Humanities Commission
Offers programs regarding the diversity of human experience found in literature, history, languages, philosophy, anthropology, & the arts.
-
TIES
Technology in education solutions for member school district administrators, educators, and students.
College Guides
-
All Online Schools
Explore accredited online colleges and universities.
-
All Schools
Search for accredited campus-based, & online universities and degree programs by career interest.
-
Career Colleges
A directory of online colleges.
-
College Degree Directory
A list of schools offering Bachelor, Masters, and Doctorate degree programs in a wide variety of fields.
-
Education Atlas
A guide to the best education sites on the Web.
-
eLearners.com
Online Degrees & College information.
-
Minnesota Career College Association
A membership list of accredited private career-specific schools & colleges.
-
Minnesota Private Colleges
Information on seventeen Minnesota private liberal arts colleges.
-
Minnesota State Colleges & Universities System
Information about Minnesota's two-year colleges & seven state universities, which are separate from the University of Minnesota.
-
Peterson's
Comprehensive resource on education - colleges & universities, graduate programs, private schools, camps, study abroad, etc.
-
Universities Worldwide: Homepage
Listing of Universities around the world.
-
US News & World Report University Directory
Online Education Degrees, Accredited On-Campus & Online Schools.
-
WorldWideLearn
Online degrees, college, & university information.
Associations
-
American Council on Education (ACE)
Search for a higher education program or service. The official site for the GED Tests
-
National Education Association (NEA)
A professional association for teachers
Student Parent & Teacher Resources
-
ArtsEdge, the National Arts and Education Information Network
Arts in the curriculum.
-
K12 Academics
A National community-based Educational & Disability Resource Center. Locate information on a school, organization, museum, camp, or support service in a specific area of the U. S.
-
Minnesota Storytime Reading Guides
Reading guides for Minnesota children's picture books, and other literacy aids.
-
Minnesota's Online Library Services
A one-search site for MNLink, ELM, Images, Questions, & Research Project planning.
-
Study Guide Zone
Free study guides & study resources for a variety of standardized tests. Included are Undergraduate/Graduate Admission, Licensing, Vocational, & Primary/Secondary Exit/Assessment exams.
-
The Lexile Framework for Reading
Learn about Lexiles. Follow the links to find books for your child.
Environmental Education
-
Center for Environmental education (CEED)
University of Minnesota Duluth environmental programs & resources
-
SEEK
Sharing Environmental Education Knowledge is an online collection of Minnesota environmental educational resources.
-
University of Minnesota Extension
Researched-based education & information for Minnesota residents.
Financial Aid & Scholarships
-
FAFSA on the Web
Federal Student Aid Application
-
Minnesota College Savings Plan
A savings plan for college costs.
-
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
Financial aid programs & information for students.
Home Schooling
-
Homeschool World
Resources for home schoolers
-
Homeschooling
Home Education Magazine online for the homeschooling community
Minnesota College Guides
-
ISEEK
Minnesota's career, education, & job resource.
-
Minnesota Career College Association
A membership list of accredited private career-specific schools & colleges.
-
Minnesota Private Colleges
Information on seventeen Minnesota private liberal arts colleges.
-
Minnesota State Colleges & Universities System
Information about Minnesota's two-year colleges & seven state universities, which are separate from the University of Minnesota.
-
University of Minnesota
Twin Cities & other U of M campus information.
Minnesota Education - Literacy - Adult & Family
-
Minnesota Adult Basic Education
Family literacy and GED information
Minnesota Education - Minnesota
-
University of Minnesota
Twin Cities & other U of M campus information.


















