Family Life
Selected Websites
Adoption
-
About Adoption
This site includes information on international adoption, adoption costs, legal resources, special needs, chat rooms, post-adoption, and adoption fraud.
Care Giving
-
Aging Solutions
Offers advice for caregivers including daily living solutions, comprehensive checklists, and links to other eldercare sites.
-
CareGuide
Helps to locate care for children or elderly by geographic location. Brief articles advising how to evaluate a care facility.
-
Long Term Care Link
The webmaster acknowledges a bias in favor of purchasing long-term care insurance. However, it provides useful information through articles and links to long term care services and providers.
Children and Tragic Events
-
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry - Coping with tragic events
In hopes of helping families cope with tragic events AACAP created a collection of resources.
-
Crisis and Disaster Resources - Child Care Aware
In the wake of any kind of emergency or disaster - large or small - children and adults may feel anxious about their own safety and security. Child Care Aware offers resources for Parents, Caregivers, School Professionals and more.
-
Helping Children Cope with Tragedy Related Anxiety - Mental Health America
This web page, from Mental Health America (formerly known as the National Mental Health Association), offers tips for parents in helping preschool-age children, as well as grade school-age children and adolescents, with tragedy-related anxiety.
-
Helping Children Deal with Tragic Events in the News
Timeless wisdom from Fred Rogers for parents, caregivers and teachers
-
Talking to Children About Disasters - American Academy of Pediatrics
Resources to help parents talk to children about violence and disasters.
Pets
-
Cat Fancier's Association Cat Breeds
Learn about cat breeds.
-
Dog Breed Information Center
Learn about dog breeds.
Parenting
-
CHADD
From the national non-profit organization representing people of all ages with attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder(AD/HD), it includes basic information, applicable education laws, links.
-
Parenting Education Resources
University Of Minnesota Extension services offers parent education for families that foster parent-child communication, nurturing and respectful discipline practices, strong parent-child relationships, and parenting skills.
-
Parenting.Org
A service of Boys Town, the site features information divided up into sections by ages and topics. They make available their experience in caring for children and families for the past 90 years by adapting and making it available through Parenting.org.
Statistics on the Family
-
Child and Family Statistics
This site provides federal and state statistics and reports on children and families. Includes: economic security, health, education and more.
Housing
-
HousingLink
This organization distributes low-income housing information for Twin Cities metro-region. Directory of housing searchable by location, housing type, available subsidies and accessibility.
Pregnancy
-
I Am Pregnant
I-am-pregnant offers detailed descriptions of what's going on with mom's body and how baby is developing each week, along with color photographs of real babies at that specific gestation. I-am-pregnant also offers near week-by-week information on the development of twins and triplets with photos.
-
Pregnancy Info
Pregnancy-info is a website with information on nearly any subject related to pregnancy and newborn care.
-
What to Expect
WhatToExpect.com — the interactive companion to the What to Expect When You're Expecting books, and home to a close-knit community of over two million parents.
Safe Kids Campaign
-
The National Safe Kids Campaign
Includes basics on safety for babies and children in the home and car, or on playground. Child safety laws by State.








