Genealogy
Research Databases
Research databases | Selected Websites
-
Ancestry | Library Edition
A comprehensive family history resource containing over 7 billion genealogical records from across the globe, including census records, passenger lists, and vital records. Users can also read helpful tips for conducting genealogical research, create family trees, and connect to and collaborate with other genealogists.
**Available only within our buildings**
-
ArchiveGrid
Provides access to nearly a million descriptions of detailed archival collections held by libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
Selected Websites
Research databases | Selected Websites
General
-
Canadian Genealogy Centre
This site develops databases based on various aspects of the Canadian population including: ports of entry into the United States, births, marriages, deaths, immigration, and census enumerations.
-
Cyndi's List
A genealogy hub site.
-
FamilySearch
FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services to learn more about their family history. For over 100 years, FamilySearch has been actively gathering, preserving, and sharing genealogical records worldwide. Patrons may freely access our resources and service online at FamilySearch.org, or through over 4,500 family history centers in 70 countries, including the renowned Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.
-
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
-
Minnesota History Center
The Minnesota History Center provides a variety of resources to help you learn about your family history including birth and death indexes for selected dates, immigration resources, and the library catalog.
-
National Archives of the United States
The National Archives of the United States holds the records of the U.S. Federal government including military service, immigration, naturalization and land records.
-
The American Family Immigration History Center
Passenger records of immigrants who entered the Port of New York at Ellis Island from 1892-1924.
-
Where to Write for Vital Records
.









